Sports Advocacy Group


Football Federation Australia were early guests of the Sports Advcacy Group and gave their presentation in the lead up to their 2010 bid to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup.


Football Federation Australia

Football Federation Australia (FFA) is the governing body of football in Australia and is a member of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the international governing body for football

While FIFA has the FFA and 207 other national associations as its members, it also recognises six confederations loosely grouped along continental lines. Each FIFA member is also a member of a confederation. FFA is a member of the Asian Football Confederation, having joined that body on 1 January 2006.

FFA was established in 2004 and is a member-based organisation. FFA’s membership is loosely based on Australia’s federated system of government and is comprised New South Wales, Northern New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania and Northern Territory. Each of these governing bodies has a commitment to comply with the FFA constitution, applicable statutes, by-laws and regulations and is responsible for the game within their respective geographic regions.

In 2005, FFA established Australia’s first ever fully professional national football league – the Hyundai A-League. Today, the Hyundai A-League consists of the following football clubs: Adelaide United, Central Coast Mariners, Newcastle Jets, Sydney FC, Brisbane Roar, Perth Glory, Melbourne Victory, Melbourne Heart, the new Sydney Club representing Western Sydney and Wellington Phoenix. FFA’s membership also includes a representative of the clubs participating in the Hyundai A-League.

FFA’s long-term vision is to establish Australia as a truly world-class football nation. In order to achieve this vision, FFA’s business operations are structured across three core strategic pillars:

  1. National Teams & Elite Player Development;
  2. A-League & Competitions; and
  3. Football Community.

In 2011, FFA was awarded the right to host the AFC Asian Cup in 2015. The AFC Asian Cup 2015 will be the first ever senior men’s football tournament staged in Australia and is expected to attract a cumulative global television audience of over 1 billion people.

Past Guests

Ben Buckley (then CEO, FFA), Simon Colosimo, Jess Van Stratten, Adrian Leijer, and Harry Williams.